OBD2 Test modes

- The OBD2 test modes are common to all vehicles of different manufacturers. What this means is that no matter what vehicle is being tested or what OBD2 diagnostic equipment is being used, all the tests you need do will be done in the same way for any vehicle from any manufacturer.

  • Mode 1
  • Parameter identification (PID) is the access to real time data of analog or digital values ​​of outputs and inputs to the ECU. This mode is also called data flow. In this mode we can see, for example, the engine temperature, the voltage generated by a lambda probe, etc.
  • Mode 2
  • Access to frozen data table. This is a very useful function of OBD2 because the ECU takes a sample of all emission-related values ​​at the exact moment a fault occurs. In this way, when recovering this data, we will be able to know the exact conditions in which that failure occurred. There is only one data frame that corresponds to the first detected fault.
  • Mode 3
  • This mode allows all DTC to be read from the ECU memory.
  • Mode 4
  • With this mode you can delete all codes stored in the PCM, including the DTCs and the frozen data box.
  • Mode 5
  • This mode returns the results of the tests performed to the oxygen sensors to determine their operation and the efficiency of the catalytic converter.
  • Mode 6
  • This mode allows to obtain the results of all on-board tests.
  • Mode 7
  • This mode allows all remaining DTC to be read from the ECU memory.
  • Mode 8
  • This mode allows you to test the actuators. With this function you can activate and deactivate actuators such as fuel pumps, idle valve, etc.

Compartir en Facebook  Compartir en Twitter  Compartir en Google+